Sunday, March 15, 2009

RSTB Presents Vol. 1


This comp's been in the works for the last few months and is now finally ready for public consumption. We honestly couldn't be more excited as this release (and the site redesign) also marks the 3 year anniversary of Raven Sings the Blues. A big thank you to all the artists involved and also to Darryl for the great design.

Clicking the link above will download a .zip file containing RSTB Presents Vol. 1 plus an 8 1/2 x 11 page in full color design by Darryl Norsen with two sided artwork to cut out and place in a sleeve. Enjoy and watch this space for volume two sometime in the future.
Bookmark and Share
posted by dissensous at 1:00 PM 2 comments

About the Tracks

1. Wet Hair - Saturn
A new track from Shawn Reed (of Raccoo-oo-oon) and co.'s new project Wet Hair. Some seriously blissed out stuff that eases the compilation off to a great start. Wet Hair has a few great cassettes out on Shawn's Night People label and new full length due soon on Not Not Fun.

2. Hassara - Chiller Channel (live)
For those of you not familiar Hassara is the alias of one James Jackson Toth (WWVV, Wooden Wand, Zodiacs) in full on instrumental scuzz territory. The bulk of the Hassara recordings were compiled onto Time Lag's Backyard CD but this one's an unreleased live track in a mellower vein from those early recordings. Recorded at Skin House, Cinco de Mayo 2008, with a fever of 103.

3. White Rainbow - Mind Haze is Clear Delights
Total drone out kraut from Adam Forkner's White Rainbow. As usual Forkner brings the shimmering pulses and drives them into oblivion... and we love it! Adam has a collaboration with Lucky Dragons and Robb Walmart out now on Marriage Recs and a wonderful album out last year on Kranky.

4. The Reds, Pinks & Purples - Almost Everythng Under the Sun
The Reds, Pinks & Purples is a new project from the ever prolific Glenn Donaldson. I hit Glenn up for a Giant Skyflower Band track and he was cool enough to let us in on these new recordings. If you're a Donaldson fan this is right up the same sun bleached folk pathway you've come to know and love. Glenn's band Skygreen Leopards is working now on a new album, Gorgeous Johnny which should hopefully be out soon.

5. Julianna Barwick - Youcatcher
Julianna's Sanguine album was one of the most unexpectedly captivating releases of 2008 and she was kind enough to lend us this new recording that's as lovely as anything she's done so far. A bit of soft shine amongst all these noiseniks on the comp.

6. Fantastic Magic - Imminent Grove
Well at the time we started this comp Fantastic Magic was live and kicking but it seems that the band may be on bit of a hiatus as of late due to rather intense popularity of Nate's other band, Wavves. This is a prime slice of noise-folk and if you're able to track down a copy of the band's Witch Choir CD-r/Cassette it's well worth it.

7. Black Vatican - Night is Come
This track from Iowa's Black Vatican has also appeared on the band's split with True Primes. Stark waves of paranoia and loneliness eminating out of every pore of this one. The band's excellent Zed Omega cassette was out last year on Night People and be sure to pick up the split out now on Locust.

8. Sic Alps - Egg Bun No. 3
Well through hardship (Matt's broken wrist) and about half a dozen tours Sic Alps were still able to let us in on this exclusive track. It should be no surprise by now how much we love the Alps around here and this one was well worth the wait. The band's A Long Way Around To A Shortcut will be reissiued on wax soon at Drag City.

9. Mythical Beast - Big Sky
Another great exclusive track from a band we love. Following last year's Scales which made out top albums of 2008, the band recorded this track with Expo 70's Justin Wright. Another great bit of darkness from the Beast and one of their best yet. Don't be fooled by the name, this is no Kinks cover though that could be pretty interesting. Scales will see vinyl release soon on Not Not Fun.

10. Blues Control - Frankie's Problem
A live recording of this Blues Control classic from the Self-Titled release on Holy Mountain. The track, recorded live at Silent Barn in Brooklyn, appeared previously on the small run Tony Rettman's 2007 WFMU marathon CDR comp.

11. Plastic Crimewave Sound - Divine 20 Infant
Closing out the comp is this monster from veteran psych beheomoths Plastic Crimewave Sound. This track has been a live staple for years and the band has never been able to properly format it for album release. Here it is in its raw and ragged glory.
Bookmark and Share
posted by dissensous at 12:58 PM 5 comments